Project 52 – Week 42 – Fall Colours

Friday morning means a new Project 52 post for you to feast your eyes on. Some of the members of the Beautiful Beasties Network (a professional pet photographers’ forum) are taking on the challenge of doing pet-related photography, with a theme that changes every week, for an entire year. The goal is to start shooting outside the box, to challenge ourselves as photographers and to expand our vision and talents. So far I’ve thoroughly enjoyed my participation, and I have learned to look at my dogs and their accoutrements in a different light (and at a different angle).

Sacramento pet photographer Lisa van Dyke chose this week’s theme.  Not sure if this was used already and maybe it’s a bit cliche but it’s my favorite time of the year! The idea here is to capture the ‘look’ of fall in your image. Colorful leaves, cloudy skies, fall foods (apples, pumpkin, cinnamon), Halloween or “Fall-ish.”

Since Northern Alberta has a bad habit of going through fall early and quickly, fall colours aren’t in abundance here.  But I got creative (again!) this week, and came up with what you see below.

This little fellow (I’m assuming it’s a fellow . . . I don’t really know the gender here) has been hanging around our yard all year.  He is very cheeky with the dogs, taunting them by running back and forth along the fence, chattering away at them.  They are only too happy to give chase and raise the alarm.  His nickname around our house is Little Friend.  My nieces adore him, and my 7 year old niece will spend hours in the backyard, watching for his appearance.  While Little Friend isn’t technically a pet, I have taken many photos of him this year, and we worry when he doesn’t show up.  So he gets to showcase the fall colours for me, since we have very few left already.

This photo has the best fall colours . . . that single leaf is about all that’s left on the trees and bushes around here.  What can I say, we get an early winter!

Hey camera lady, look at me!  Quick, I can’t hold this pose much longer . . . snap the picture!

I know it’s an unusual way to showcase fall colours, but hopefully you enjoyed meeting our Little Friend!  As this is a blog ring, please continue on to Photo Lab Pet Photography in the San Francisco bay area’s  blog  for more awesome photos . Once you’re done with Photo Lab’s blog, keep clicking through the links at the end of each blog until you get back here, and you’ll have seen all of the Project 52 blog posts for this week.

About kladphoto

KLAD Photography is a mobile pet photography business which operates in Northern Alberta, Canada. Shoots can be done in the comfort of your own home or at an agreed-upon location. Providing pawparazzi for your pet!

Posted on October 19, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Great shots!!

    Nicole Martin Via iPhone

  2. I love the fall colors you were able to capture! You’d never know. 🙂 Cute little guy, too!

  3. LOL! I love your creativity and the photo together with your words had me giggling this morning! Beautifully captured wild life and wonderful story.

  4. Oh my goodness!!! I just love that second image! so perfect 😀

  5. OMG! Love them! Great job! 🙂

  1. Pingback: 52 Project: Fall | Sweet Potato Pet Photos

Leave a Reply

