Project 52 – Week 28 – Focus

Friday morning means a new Project 52 post for you to feast your eyes on.  Some of the members of the Beautiful Beasties Network (a professional pet photographers’ forum) are taking on the challenge of doing pet-related photography, with a theme that changes every week, for an entire year.  The goal is to start shooting outside the box, to challenge ourselves as photographers and to expand our vision and talents.  So far I’ve thoroughly enjoyed my participation, and I have learned to look at my dogs and their accoutrements in a different light (and at a different angle).

Karla Ogilvie chose this week’s theme, and here’s what she came up with:  This week’s challenge is Selective Focus.  The idea is isolate our subject whether it be by stopping down, the use of a specific lens such as a Lensbaby, or perhaps a telephoto lens to compress the image. You can even do this in Photoshop if you want. The goal is that only our subject is to be in sharp focus.

Since I love, love, love shooting with a low aperture, I tend to get selective focus in most of my shots, especially the portrait-type shots.  But I wanted to go further than usual, so I pulled out my 50mm f1.8 prime lens to see if I could up the bokeh a bit.

My Old Dog, resting up after spending time outside in the summer sun

Grace, who is as pretty as the flowers behind her.

My wild child Jack Jack, smiling for the camera

Jack Jack’s ever-present raspberry for the camera . . . . you would think I had put this on cue!

I you’ve enjoyed focussing on the KLAD kids.  As this is a blog ring, please continue on to Charleston pet photographer Dana Cubbage’s blog for more awesome photos .  Once you’re done with Dana’s blog, keep clicking through the links at the end of each blog until you get back here, and you’ll have seen all of the Project 52 blog posts for this week.

About kladphoto

KLAD Photography is a mobile pet photography business which operates in Northern Alberta, Canada. Shoots can be done in the comfort of your own home or at an agreed-upon location. Providing pawparazzi for your pet!

Posted on July 13, 2012, in Project 52 and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Jack Jack’s smiling face in front of the flowers is adorable!

  2. Such pretty pups and flowers. You must not be having the crazy heat wave we were having. All the flowers here are dead.

  3. I love the fluffy paws in the first one! And Jack and Grace look beautiful in front of the flowers.

  4. Sharon Stokes

    A beautiful set of images, but I love the focus on the foot in the 1st shot best 🙂

  1. Pingback: Project 52 – Selective Focus « Dog Breath Photography Blog

Leave a Reply

